Nagpur District is a District in the Vidarbha region of Maharashtra state in central India. The city of Nagpur is the district headquarters. The district is part of Nagpur Division.
In 1853, after the death of Raghoji III, the princely state of Nagpur was annexed by the British and the territory occupied by the present district became part of Nagpur Province. In 1861, it was merged with the Central Provinces and Nagpur district became a part of one of its divisions, Nagpur division. In 1903, it became part of the Central Provinces and Berar.

In 1950, Nagpur district became part of the newly formed Madhya Pradesh state and Nagpur became its capital. In 1956, after the reorganisation of states, Nagpur district was incorporated in Bombay state. On 1 May 1960, it became a district of Maharashtra state. Nagpur district is bounded by Bhandara District on the east, Chandrapur District on the southeast, Wardha District on the southwest, Amravati District on the northwest and
Chhindwara District of Madhya Pradesh state on the north. Nagpur city is the winter capital of the state of Maharashtra, with a population of 2,405,421. It has also recently been ranked as the cleanest city and the second greenest city of India. In addition to being the seat of annual winter session of Maharashtra state assembly “Vidhan Sabha”, Nagpur is also a major commercial and political centre of the Vidarbha region of Maharashtra.

Nagpur is also famous throughout the country as “Orange City” for being a major trade center of oranges that are cultivated in the region.

250 Properties
Sort by:

Compare listings